Menu

E-Learning Unit

menu

Course creation and Settings: How to backup and restore a course (Admin)

Print Friendly

For: StaffApplication: Administering your moduleTagged: Administrators , backup

This guide is for QMplus Course Administrators and covers:

  1. Creating a course backup file
  2. Restoring from a backup file

Required permissions – Relevant course administrator from department(s) of original course and duplicated course.

Required knowledge – Course administration (QMplus/Moodle)


Step 1: Creating a course backup file

  1. From your course page, access the ‘Backup page’

Settings > Course administration > Backup backupandrestore1

2. Backup settings

Leave the default Backup Settings as they are. Click Next.

Ticked

Unticked

Include enrolled users

Include user role assignments

Include user files

Include activities

Include blocks

Include filters

Include comments

Include user completion details

Anonymize user information

Include course logs

Include grade history

3. Schema settings (content filter)

Leave as is (by default, all content is selected for the backup). Click Next.

4. Confirmation and review (backup filename)

Check settings are correct and the filename, scroll down (use ‘previous’ if changes are needed), then click ‘perform backup’.

backupandrestore5

backupandrestore6

5. Confirmation screen

When presented with the confirmation screen, click Continue.

backupandrestore7


Step 2. Restoring from backup file

1. Restore Page

From the course page, access the ‘Backup page’

Settings > Course administration (1) > Restore (2)

backupandrestore8

Find the relevant backup file listed in the ‘Course backup area’ and click ‘restore’.

backupandrestore92. Backup details/Settings (Course content overview)

Review the content of the backup file and then click ‘Continue’ Œ

Backup and restore continue screen

3. Restore Options:

There are three options to restore a course.

  1. Restore as a new course – this allows you to create a duplicate course
  2. Restore into this course- this allows you to merge or overwrite the course you are in with the backup file.
  3. Restore into an existing course- this allows you to merge into a different existing course or overwrite the course.

The first option allows you to create a duplicate course. Select the correct category to place the duplicate course in (if not listed, you can search for this using the search bar). If you would like to use the other two options follow the same process.

NOTE- Ensure that you have the permission of the relevant course administrator.

Then click ‘Continue’.

backupandrestore11backupandrestore12

4.Settings

Confirm areas for restore (default all selected), then click Next.

5. Schema

Confirm elements/components for restore (by default all are selected), then click ‘Next’.backupandrestore14

6. Review

Check restore settings (if corrections are needed use ‘Previous’).

Click ‘Perform Restore’.

 backupandrestore17

7.Complete

Click ‘Continue’ to view restored course.

backupandrestore18

Did this answer your query? If not, you can raise a ticket on the online Helpdesk or email: its-helpdesk@qmul.ac.uk . Alternatively you can also request a particular guide on our guides request tracker.

Produced by the the E-Learning Unit at Queen Mary University of London.
QP026-image015

Return to top